Burna Boy Makes Obama’s Playlist Third Time, Ayra Starr Twice
Burna Boy Makes Obama’s Playlist Third Time, Ayra Starr Twice

Former U.S. President Barack Obama, continuing his tradition, unveiled his summer playlist for 2023, featuring the acclaimed African Giant and Grammy Award-winner, Burna Boy, for the third time. Additionally, Ayra Starr, signed to Mavin Records, secured her spot on the list for the second time.

Obama took to his Twitter page on Thursday, July 20, 2023, to announce the inclusion of 41 songs, with two Nigerians making the cut. Burna Boy’s ‘Sittin’ on top of the World’, featuring British singer 21 Savage, and Ayra Starr’s ‘Sability’ were the tracks representing Nigeria on the playlist.

READ MORE: U.S. Department and FBI to Release Tinubu’s Criminal and Immigration Records at a Later Date

Ayra Starr, excited by the recognition, responded to Obama’s tweet, noting that after ‘Rush’ last year, now ‘Sability’ was featured, implying more successes in the future.

In the previous years, Nigerian artists had also been featured on Obama’s summer playlist. In 2022, Burna Boy’s ‘Last Last’, Rema’s ‘Calm Down’, Ayra Starr’s ‘Rush’, and Pheelz’s ‘Finesse’, featuring BNXN, made the list. In 2021, Wizkid and Tems’ ‘Essence’ earned a spot, while in 2020, ‘Know Your Worth’ by Khalid and Disclosure, featuring Davido and Tems, as well as Wizkid’s ‘Smile’, featuring American singer H.E.R., were featured. Additionally, in 2019, Rema’s ‘Iron Man’ and Burna Boy’s ‘Anybody’ were included on the playlist.

Obama’s appreciation for Nigerian music reflects the global impact and recognition of Nigerian artists in the music industry.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here